8510 Bucyrus Ct
Manassas, VA 20110
P (703) 361-2444
F (703) 361-2178

Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8:30 am-4:30pm

Find Your Rep

Update Your Information

Quick Links





The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) replaces the deeply flawed Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), better known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB).

ESSA seeks to return decision-making for education to the hands of local educators, parents, and communities with the focus what is best for all students.  Currently, states are in the process of planning how best to implement ESSA. As the passage of ESSA mandates the participation and input of educators (the experts in education), it is a crucial time for education nationwide.

In order to insure all voices are heard and all stakeholders have an opportunity to provide input, PWEA, in collaboration with PWCS, has established an ESSA team. The team includes teachers from each grade level, teachers of English Language Learners, Special Education teachers, a school social worker, an Education Support Professional, a school administrator, two school board members, several central office employees, several students, and two parents (one not yet determined). Initial goals identified by the group include reducing division-wide testing and closing the achievement gap evidenced by Special Education students and English Language Learners. 


Photos from the ESSA Town Hall held April 20th, 2017 at Stonewall Jackson HS

                    2016-17  ESSA IMPLEMENTATION  TEAM

  • Ken Bassett, Director, Student Learning
  • Evan Brandt, Student – Battlefield HS
  • Chrystal Branscome, Special Education 
  • Jennifer Cassata, Director, Accountability
  • Tracey D’Amico, School Social Worker
  • Rae Darlington, Deputy Superintendent
  • Lori Dunn, School Media Assistant
  • Gwen Edwards, PWEA Vice President/State Team
  • Shannon Geraghty, High School Teacher
  • Ricki Guyant, Parent – Potomac District
  • Marlena Hawkins, ESOL Elementary
  • Amanda McCulla, Assistant Principal
  • Katie Min, ESOL Secondary
  • Riley O’Casey, PWEA President
  • Dawn Rutland, Middle School Teacher
  • Alyson Satterwhite, School Board – Gainesville District
  • Kim Simons, Parent – Brentsville District
  • Laurence Sneed, Student – Forest Park HS
  • Mary Ruth Spencer, Elementary School Teacher
  • Amy White, Director, Human Resources
  • Betsy Young, Student Services
  • Loree Williams, School Board – Woodbridge District


To learn more, go this ESSA website:  or contact one of the ESSA Implementation Team Members